Ed Sheeran Wins Ivor Novello Awards

The chart-topping singer took home two top prizes at the star-studded Grosvenor House bash.

Ed Sheeran was the big winner at the Ivor Novello Awards in London on Thursday, May 31.

The singer took home two top prizes at the star-studded Grosvenor House bash, winning the Songwriter of the Year Award and the Music Most Performed Work prize.

He shared the latter award with the song’s co-writers, Steve Mac, Johnny McDaid and Guy Moot, who joined him onstage to accept their statuettes.

Others who triumphed at the U.K. songwriting awards ceremony were Stormzy, whose smash hit debut Gang Signs & Prayer earned him Album of the Year, and his fellow grime star Dave, who bagged the Best Contemporary Song prize for his track Question Time.

Elbow’s Magnificent (She Says) was named Best Song, Musically and Lyrically at the ceremony.

Several British music legends were also honoured for their achievements, with Billy Bragg receiving an Outstanding Contribution to British Music prize and The Pogues star Shane MacGowan handed the Inspiration Award. Billy Ocean was also saluted with the the International Achievement trophy, while Lionel Richie won the Music Special International Award – the only Ivor Novello given to a non-British artist.

Indie rocker turned composer Mica Levi’s music for the biopic Jackie was victorious in the Best Original Film Score category and composer Dan Jones’ work on BBC drama landed him the Best Television Soundtrack award.

The full list of winners is:

  • PRS for Music Most Performed Work – Ed Sheeran (Shape of You)
  • Best Original Film Score – Mica Levi (Jackie)
  • Best Television Soundtrack – Dan Jones (The Miniaturist)
  • Best Video Game Score – Joris de Man, Joe Henson, and Alexis Smith (Horizon Zero Dawn)
  • Best Song Musically and Lyrically – Elbow (Magnificent (She Says))
  • The Ivors Classical Music Award – Thea Musgrave
  • Best Contemporary Song – Dave (Question Time)
  • PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music – Billy Bragg
  • Outstanding Song Collection – Cathy Dennis
  • International Achievement – Billy Ocean
  • Album Award – Stormzy (Gang Signs & Prayer)
  • The Ivors Inspiration Award – Shane MacGowan
  • Songwriter of the Year Award – Ed Sheeran
  • PRS for Music Special International Award – Lionel Richie

Source: Read Full Article