5 members of Winnipeg Blue Bombers named to CFLPA All-Star Team

Five players on the Winnipeg Blue Bombers have been voted to the CFL Players’ Association All-Star Team.

The only member of the Bombers’ offence who was recognized was offensive lineman Stanley Bryant who was chosen an all-star at the tackle position.

Three more players on defence received the honour.

Willie Jefferson is an all-star at defensive end, Adam Bighill is the all-star middle linebacker and Winston Rose is an all-star at cornerback. Mike Miller was named the all-star on special teams.

With his positive drug test earlier this season, Andrew Harris was passed over for the all-star running back nod, despite leading the league in rushing. The Montreal Alouettes’ William Stanback was voted the all-star at running back instead.

Bryant, 33, appeared in all 18 games this season. He’s also won back-to-back Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman awards and is nominated again this year.

Jefferson, 28, set the CFL record for most pass knockdowns by a lineman. He also recorded 12 sacks, 24 defensive tackles and one interception this season. Jefferson is also nominated for the CFL’s Most Outstanding Defensive Player award.

Bighill, 31, had two interceptions, two forced fumbles and four sacks in 15 games this season.

Rose, 25, was the CFL leader in interceptions. In 18 games he had nine picks, taking one of them back for a touchdown.

Miller, 30 was the Bombers’ team nominee for Most Outstanding Special Teams Player and Most Outstanding Canadian. He had 25 special teams tackles in 2019 which ranked second-best in the league. He’s also the West Division nominee for Most Outstanding Special Teams Player.

Source: Read Full Article