What does the California curfew mean?

THE new California curfew, which has been introduced to residents amid soaring Covid cases, will apply between 10pm and 5am.

There are also a set of guidelines residents must adhere to according to county-by-county cases.

What does the California curfew mean?

California’s acting public health officer Dr. Erica Pan on Thursday issued what she called a “limited stay at home order” imposing widespread limitations to combat the coronavirus pandemic.

The curfew limits restriction for 90 per cent of California residents between 10pm and 5am.

It will begin on November 21 and end on December 21, but it's currently unclear how the state plans to enforce curfew rules.

“The virus is spreading at a pace we haven’t seen since the start of this pandemic and the next several days and weeks will be critical to stop the surge. We are sounding the alarm,” Governor of California Gavin Newsom wrote in a news release.

“It is crucial that we act to decrease transmission and slow hospitalizations before the death count surges. We’ve done it before and we must do it again.”

The curfew, which applies to California's non-essential workers, mirrors March's lockdown rules at the start of the pandemic, although the rules only apply at night.

Authorities say the focus is on keeping people from social mixing and drinking, which are the kinds of activities that are blamed for causinginfections to soar after dipping only a few months ago.

"Large numbers of people getting together oblivious of controls — no masks, no social distancing, often indoors — a lot of those things are in fact occurring at night," infection disease expert Dr Mark Cullen said, who recently retired from Stanford University.

What does purple tier mean?

Purple represents counties with widespread Covid-19.

Purple, or Tier 1, indicates that coronavirus is rampant in the county – with more than seven cases per 100,000, or more than eight per cent of test results reported positive over seven days.

There are 41 counties in California's purple tier at present.

It means around 94 per cent of Californians — roughly 37 million people — will live in counties that are in the strictest tier of Cali's roadmap to reopening.

No public or private schools in counties rated purple can open for in-person teaching.

Church services must take place outdoors as there is a ban on indoor worship.

All retail remains open but shops can only operate at 25 per cent of their normal capacity.

Shopping malls also remain open but capacity is restricted to 25 per cent and food courts are closed.

Restaurants that serve food outdoors are permitted to remain open but bars and pubs are shut.

Remote working is recommended under the purple tier restrictions.

Professional sports can continue but these must take place behind closed doors.

What other tiers are there?

The four tiers are purple, red, orange and yellow.

Red reflect areas with a substantial number of cases, orange is the moderate tier, and yellow reflect areas with a minimal number of cases.

There are 17 counties that aren't in the purple tier.

Del Norte, Modoc, Humboldt, Colusa, Lake, Plumas, Marin, Amador, San Mateo, San Francisco and Mono county are all red.

Calaveras, Sierra, Lassen and Inyo remain orange.

Yellow tiers include Alpine and Mariposa.

Source: Read Full Article